Overcoming My Biggest Hurdle With The Switch

From the time I first touched this MacBook Pro, there was one behavior that annoyed the hell out of me. It’s something every Windows and X user takes for granted but is missing from the Mac. Its easy screen management. What I mean by that is that moving and resizing windows on Windows is just easy. Grab any side or corner and drag to resize that window. But that doesn’t work on the Mac. I have no idea why this is the case.

Every now and then, I spend some time searching for solutions to this problem, but most mentions of it simply say its something you need to get used to. In fact, some forum posts that talk about the issue claim that it won’t bother you after a while. As I have gotten more familiar with Objective C I started looking into how to control this myself. I just noticed how to do this programmatically but I haven’t tested it out yet. Maybe I’ll figure this out after a few more weeks, but it turns out I don’t have to.

There is a developer out there who has already figured it all out. Someone who obviously had the same issue I had and figured out a solution. The application is called Zooom/2 and can be found at http://coderage-software.com/zooom/index_green/index.html. This tool is nothing short of amazing. By pressing a pair of shortcut keys, just moving the mouse resizes whatever window I am hovering over right now. A similar shortcut and a drag moves to window to another location on screen. Its absolutely fantastic.

Its got some other cool features as well. It will snap to a user-definable grid and/or to the edges of other windows or the screen. This is magic when trying to get a few different windows arranged on the desktop. I have heard suggestions that Spaces gives you a more powerful arrangement tool, but that is completely different. I want to see multiple windows on the desktop at the same time. Like when I am in Xcode while wanting to read some docs about whatever I am working on, and viewing the Stanford U Objective C course. Spaces is completely useless for that scenario.

So Zooom/2 from Coderage Software is an incredible tool that I will be buying very soon. Its 19.95 USD and has a 30 day eval, but it only took me about 3 minutes to know that I needed it.