Does Powerpoint Suck???

Last month, Mashable made a list of over 30 online presentation tools available on the web. I didn’t see the list until today, but I quickly opened up every single link in my browser. Near the top it mentioned that these would allow you to dump Powerpoint for something better. The implication is that Powerpoint kinda sucks. I agree that its not quite as slick as that preso tool that exists on the Macs, but its not all that bad. And seeing this list of competition made me see that Powerpoint actually is pretty cool. Or its just sucks less than the more than 29 online options on that list that completely suck. Almost every single one of them give me the feeling that a dev spent a few evenings whipping up a crappy web app and then spun it off into a new company.

But I said “almost”. There was one amazing exception to that list. Coincidentally its the one that isn’t available yet. SlideRocket looks like its the one presentation application good enough to make me want to dump one of the primary idea expression tools in my arsenal. From the online demo, it looks like I can create some amazing presentations, incorporate beautiful transitions that aren’t annoying, and play them back with minimal overhead. It appears to be a mostly online solution with some offline capability as well.

I can’t wait for SlideRocket to become available, or at least to get an invite. It looks like it could be the first online app as good, or even better, as the definer of its genre.