Are they serious??? No booing in school games???

When traveling, I love to get a bit of news from home…whether that means general US news, or more specific to Seattle and other cities I have lived in. The New York Times Reader made this possible starting a few months ago. I can download the latest news when online, and then view it in a format similar to the original paper when I am on a plane or in a hotel. I was very excited to see the the Seattle PI and the London Daily Mail recently offer similar applications.

That said, I am amazed and perhaps a little disgusted by what makes the front page. In the Seattle PI, there is a story about booing at high school games. Apparently the school officials want to promote a more positive atmosphere at these games. And booing does not fit into the “positive” definition. Are they joking? I think these people are getting a little too politically correct. These are games. Someone wins and someone loses. The losers suck and the winners rock. One should do everything possible to ensure that the right team loses. If that means chanting satanic verses at the other team, so be it. Its a game!!! All of us have been to these things and we all booed, but most of us turned out ok. But it was one quote that really astonished me:

“I don’t know why people think it’s acceptable to boo in the first place,” Washington Interscholastic Activities Association Executive Director Mike Colbrese said. “It’s a pretty novel concept to me.”

Uh, Mike? Did you really say that? Did you really mean to say that? Did you grow up home-schooled??? Is it right to have such a person in charge of a group that runs games between schools? He obviously had no experience attending these games as a youth.

As long as we are at it, how about we ban people from attending the games. In fact it may solve everything if the day after the game, everyone is sent to a YouTube url with a video of the game…..as long as they turn off the comments section for that video…