I LOVE 30boxes

30Boxes rocks. It is just too cool. In case you are not familiar with it, 30Boxes is, in its simplest form, an online calendar. I can use it to schedule events. OK, not too exciting yet. I use Outlook for that and Outlook does a great job. But Outlook isn’t as great at letting the people I care about know what I am up to. For instance, I would like to make it easy for my family and friends to know what I am up to and where I am. No, I don’t tell my parents when I am going to be out late, but I would like to let them know that I am going to be flying from Amsterdam to Zagreb for a week next month. And I want them to be able to see that when they want to see that, not just when time zones (they live in Miami and I am in Amsterdam) are convenient. I also want a way to add portions of that calendar to this blog. My role at Captaris is as a trainer. I want people to see when I am teach classes in Amsterdam or Zagreb or Sydney or Singapore. I think that is interesting.

So with 30Boxes, I can have a public calendar showing all the classes that I am currently scheduled to teach. Or I can have one just showing the Workflow classes I am doing, etc. I can even have an RSS feed for my public schedule.

So how can it be better? It would be nice if I could give my calendars nice titles. It would be great if I could right-click on an Outlook calendar item to add it to 30Boxes. And it would be great if Outlook would automatically update 30Boxes when I update a calendar item. But so far it is very good and I will continue to use it. I will probably update this site to Community Server 2 in the next few days and be able to add my schedule to the front page too.