what a day…

Wow, what a day. Been running around like a madman. Sold my car today, along with my 9 foot by 6 foot L-shaped desk, 4 dining room chairs, and a great teak dining table. I sold the car through a group called CashForCars.net. They are on a strip of road in San Jose where they have dozens of competitors, eager for people who have gone beyond their means and need to sell the most expensive item they own quickly. Or people like me who are leaving the country soon and don’t have time to deal with getting a title transferred. Now if you want to sell your car and get the best price, sell it on your own on CraigsList or Ebay. But if you are in a hurry, avoid the others on W San Carlos and go to CashForCars. I sold my 2002 GTi VR6 for $10,500. I could have gotten about 12–13000 from a private party with a lot of hassle. But every other organization on that road offered about 8000. So the deal I got sucked, but it sucked less than the other options. But it was kind of sad parting with it then walking to the CalTrans train station.

The rest of the stuff that went today was sold through CraigsList. I posted all of it this morning and sold it today. There are just a few items left and somebody from an East Bay charity offered to pick up whatever is left Thursday afternoon. SWEET!

Let me tell you, I am going to be soooo damned happy to get this move over with. Friday morning when I sit on that plane in my upgraded-with-miles Business Class seat all the way to Amsterdam, I will finally be able to rest…